Books, Children's Books, Photography, Picture Books, TBTPictureBooks

Baby Animals

Grandpa

 

Baby Animals

A Puppet Storybook

1969 -illustrations by Tadasu Izawa and Shigemi Hijikata

Cover

Inside Flap

I bought this book with two others by T. Izawa and S. Hijikata. The style of the others two books I bought were different from this one, so I didn’t realize at first what was missing from the front cover. I could see glue lines on the cover of Baby Animals and it definitely made me curious what the cover was supposed to look like.  I found out the cover art on many of the books from T. Izawa and S. Hijikata are done with a lenticular 3D card.  

Even though the cover on this was missing a part I was happy I had found a little set of books at a thrift store all from the same illustrators. Maybe they were dropped off by a family who once collected and loved these books with the whimsical photographic illustrations from T. Izawa and S. Hijikata. 

Back Cover

As I look into other books by these two artists, I’m amazed at the number of titles that were produced. There must have been endless days setting up shots in the studio for all the books –fun little details to work out and sets to design.

“…beautiful color illustrations of adorable puppets in lifelike poses that are en endless delight.”

 

Leave a Reply

